Answered: <G11> Tipping

in the thread <G11> It seems too overpowering you said:

“If a robot has expanded in an effort to obstruct the field, you are no longer protected by <G11> while teams try and get past your obstruction. What this means is that you should expect and be prepared for vigourous interaction from the team trying to get past you”

  1. If a red team robot has expanded upwards and is blocking the red side of the trough to prevent a blue team robot on the blue side of the trough from de-scoring, can the blue team robot push the red team robot while attempting to push the bags out of the trough?
    If the red team robot is tipped over in the process of trying to descore is that considered intentional tipping?

  2. If a red team robot has a flip over the trough to dump bags and remains over the trough to prevent de-scoreing, can the blue team robot use “vigourous interaction” to gain acces to the trough to de-score?

There’s not enough information provided here to make a definitive decision on whether or not tipping would be called. In general, a team who pushes high on an opposing robot, causing the robot to tip, can be expected to be called for a violation <G11>.

It depends if the device meets the criteria set forth in <G11> of “expanding horizontally in an effort to obstruct the field.” If the device is covering an entire trough, it would meet this criteria.

There’s not enough information provided here to make a definitive decision on whether or not tipping would be called. In general, a team who pushes high on an opposing robot, causing the robot to tip, can be expected to be called for a violation <G11>.

Here is more information…

First Tip video: The blue team robot (left) is attempting to descore from the red teams trough. The red team robot (right) attempts to block. The red team robot hooks the trought and tips over. The blue team robot does not actually touch the red teams robot. The judges and the red team see this as the first tipping by the blue team.

The blue team won the first round of the finals.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vupCzwkoagk

Secont Tip video: The blue team robot (left) is again attempting to descore from the red teams trough. the red team robot (right attempts to block and is tipped over by the blue team robot.

The blue team was disqualified and lost the second round of the finals.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oMhP4mCEcU

WHAT IS INTENTIONAL TIPPING???

<G11> “Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of Robots are not part of the ethos of the VEX Robotics competition and are not allowed. However, VEX Sack Attack is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal game play.”

Question 1 - If in the process of trying to score or descore the opposing teams robot is tipped over because they are in the path of the scoring or descoring action, is that intentional tipping?

Further on in <G11> “Teams should design their Robots such that they are not tipped over or damaged by minor contact.”

Question 2 - What is minor contact?

Secont Tip video: The blue team robot (left) is again attempting to descore from the red teams trough. the red team robot (right attempts to block and is tipped over by the blue team robot.

The blue team was disqualified and lost the second round of the finals.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oMhP4mCEcU

From my vantage point, I do not see any intentional tipping in either video. In general it is expected that there will be contact between robots as they compete for position around the troughs. Teams should be prepared to withstand this contact.

No, this is not intentional tipping.