Answered: G12 Clarification on Err

<G12> In the case where referees are forced to make a judgement call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referee will “err” on the side of the offensive Robot.
We just participated on a League yesterday where we were disqualified of a Match due to contact with a Robot over the fence when we were trying to score, moving stars over the fence. The robot on the other side of the fence didn’t move and tried to block us and as we were releasing the stars, due to its lightweight and small robot base, was tipped and fall. I am adding a link so you can see the video clip and give me your opinion for future references. We explained to the judge that our intentions were not at any moment to push him down but to score. I would like to know your opinion of the clip and the clarification of ERR. Does it mean that the judge should have ruled on our side instead of the defensive robot’s side? On the clip, we are the Robot on the right side of the fence. Thanks!!! This whole event was transmitted via YouTube under the following link: VEX Starstruck - Match 31 - Liga Puertorriqueña de Robotica - 6 de Noviembre de 2016 - YouTube

G12 – A Team should design its Robot such that it is not easily tipped over or damaged by minor contact.
](VEX Starstruck - Match 31 - Liga Puertorriqueña de Robotica - 6 de Noviembre de 2016 - YouTube)

Based on this video, the referee had a very difficult call to make. When it comes to tipping, one of the main criteria referees look at is whether the team accused of doing the tipping had the opportunity to prevent the tip by backing away. In this case it appears that the Blue Robot had this opportunity. Instead of backing away, they continued pushing forward causing the Red Robot to tip.