Answered: <G6> "Promptly" interpretation

Hello Karthik,

At a recent regional tournament, the referees gave the teams exactly five seconds to place their robots and said that once the robot was released, it was considered placed and could not be touched again, even if the match on the other field was still going and there was plenty of time before the match on that field had to be started. Is this a valid interpretation of <G6>? What amount of time is allowed to place a robot? And what conditions must be met for a robot to be considered placed?

Thanks, Karthik!

Referees and local events are given the freedom to run their events at the pace they choose. As long as they were consistent to all teams with this time frame, this would be acceptable.