Answered: Gateway "Prescore"

In <SG2>, it states, “A Scoring Object is considered to be legally preloaded if it is touching the Robot or a legal Preload.” If a robot were to hold a preload, and have that object touching another preload inside of a circular goal, would this be legal? This would mean that at the start of the game an object is within the goal, not touching the robot, and therefore scored before the game has even begun.

This would not be legal, as per the updated version of <SG2>, quoted below, from the VEX Gateway Game Manual.

Preloads may not be placed in a Scored position (neglecting contact by the robot) or touching a Goal.