Drbayer
October 31, 2011, 11:14am
1
In the skills challenge and also the regular competition are we allowed to ‘‘reposition’’ our intake.
By reposition I mean to swing down the intake. If you read this thread, the later posts explain what I am asking. Most teams just use a latch sort of thing to swing intake up and down, but could you just push it down by hand?
According to <SG5> of the game manual we are allowed to handle our own robot, but then says that we may not manipulate it.
Drbayer:
In the skills challenge and also the regular competition are we allowed to ‘‘reposition’’ our intake.
By reposition I mean to swing down the intake. If you read this thread, the later posts explain what I am asking. Most teams just use a latch sort of thing to swing intake up and down, but could you just push it down by hand?
According to <SG5> of the game manual we are allowed to handle our own robot, but then says that we may not manipulate it.
No, this would not be legal. Let’s take a closer look at <SG5> from the VEX Gateway Game Manual
<SG5> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile. During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects (aside from any which are being loaded into the Robot), either by direct hand contact or indirect contact via the Robot. **Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot other than in the act of fixing the Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift up the Robot’s arm). **
The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to load Match Loads into the Robot, to reposition and/or reorient Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by interacting with the Robot via sensors or buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring. Figure 11: Examples of legally preloaded Scoring Objects
Repositioning the intake would definitely be changing the configuration of the robot, thus it would be illegal.