Answered: Handling the robot during autonomous

For the rule shown below, the team and i were wondering if it would be possible to make our robot grab a scoring peice and have it return to the starting tile, then reposition it by hand?

<SG5> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile. During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects (aside from any
which are being loaded into the Robot), either by direct hand contact or indirect contact via the Robot.
Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot other than in the act of fixing the
Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift up the
Robot’s arm).
The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to load Match Loads into
the Robot, to reposition and/or reorient Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by
interacting with the Robot via sensors or buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are
controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring.

Yes, the Robot may autonomously leave the Alliance Starting Tile, grab a Scoring Object, return to the starting tile and then be repositioned by a Driver or a Coach. This is legal as per <SG5> of the VEX Gateway Game Manual, which you quoted above.

Thank you!