Answered: Hanging

I have a question, if a team is trying to hang and are on the process of hanging? Is there a penalty for the opponents alliance going and pulling or hitting the attempting hanging team.

For example : Team 1 is attempting to hang and is above the ground, then the opponents alliance trying to play defense comes and rams the team off the ladder. Is that legal?

When interacting with the opponent, teams must always be mindful of rules <G11> and <SG5> from Section 2 of the VEX Round Up Game Manual:

As such “hitting” would fall under the category of contact or ramming and is permitted as long as it is not destructive or damaging.

“Pulling” would be categorized as entanglement and is not permitted by both <G11> and <SG5>. It is never permissible for a VEX robot to intentionally grasp and attach to another robot.

It is hard to make a concrete ruling on a hypothetical situation without knowing the entire scenario. That being said, the action you describe sounds legal provided that it is not ruled to be intentionally damaging.

The intent of these rules is to provide teams with adequate protection from malicious and destructive strategies. However we do understand that the points for hanging are very large and that teams will want to defend against their opponents from achieving them. Pushing teams while in the process of hanging is legal, while repeated ramming may be judged to be a violation.