Answered: Herding and Possession <SG8>

In <SG8>:

Where possessing is defined as:

  1. Suppose that a robot is carrying 3 buckyballs to the corner under the hanging bar, where there are a number of other buckyballs on the ground already. Is it considered posession if the robot attempts to place its 3 buckyballs into the very corner and in doing so, the ground buckyballs are also pushed in the direction of the corner? (herding?)
    1a) and the ground buckyballs are pressed up against the corner such that the robot’s buckyballs are outtaked on top of them? (inadverdently trapping?)
    1b) there is space between the corner and the robot, and the none of the buckyballs after outtaking are pressed up against each other, the walls and/or the robot

  2. The robot remains in place after scenario 1a or 1b, in the corner under the hanging bar and does not move. Is either one considered possession?
    2c) or if there are buckyballs already loosely packed in that area and the robot moves to block the corner, but does not press up against them (although it may touch a few in maneuvering to the corner)?
    2d) moves to the corner and presses them up against the field walls (trapping) but in the process of hanging?

This would be legal. The Robot is expelling BuckyBalls, not actively trying to control them.

This is unintentional, and not what the rule is trying to prevent. This would be legal.

This is not a violation.

FYI - “Outtaked” and “Outtaking” are not words.

Depending on the specific situation, this could be considered intentionally trapping BuckyBalls, thus a form of possession.

Depending on the specific situation, this could be considered intentionally trapping BuckyBalls, thus a form of possession.

This is unintentional, and not what the rule is trying to prevent. This would most likely be legal, depending on the specific situation.

Thanks, this is much clearer now.

PS: “Descore”. That is all.

You’re welcome.

1 Like