Answered: Herding bucky balls on the bump

Hello

Quote from Game Definition of “Possessing”
o Accidentally Herding BuckyBall(s) (i.e.** driving through BuckyBall(s) in the path of the Robot**) is not considered herding, and thus not considered Possessing

Scenario
While already possessing 3 bucky balls within your robot, you impel 1 or more bucky balls from the top of the bump into the middle zone and/or goal zone (thus they become scored) while following your intended path.

  1. Is this legal?

  2. Is this only legal if it is deemed accidental by the referee?

  3. If this happens during a skills run, should it be scored?

  4. If this happens during a match on one occasion only, and it is illegal, is it a warning offense or a disqualification offence?

I ask, because I have seen one instance where this appears to have been used as an intentional skills routine and was deemed legal and another instance where it may have been accidental, but was ruled illegal and a disqualification resulted.

I believe this scenario will play out many times with the Toss Up game. A clear ruling on this scenario would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance, Paul :slight_smile:

Take a look at the following Q&A response that deals with these issues:

During a Skills match, if the referees rule that a violation of any rule has occurred that results in a disqualification, the match should not be scored.

Let’s take a look at the applicable rule from the VEX Toss Up Game Manual. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

The bolded text directly answers your question.

Thanks for the response.

I am still a little foggy on the legality of this manoeuvre.

This was ruled as “This would most likely be legal, as the BuckyBall would tend to be knocked away from the robot, as opposed to moving with the robot continuously as it drove.”

I though this sounded like it was legal, however, then I read this Q&A:

[https://vexforum.com/t/answered-autonomous-possessing-herding/24300/1&highlight=herding

This was ruled as “These routines are not legal. You are intentionally Herding BuckyBalls, which therefore count towards your limit of possessed BuckyBalls.”

My interpretation was that these two Q&A questions were describing much the same scenario, but the rulings on legality were conflicting. However there may be some distinction between the scenarios described that I am not picking up (would not be the first time :slight_smile: ), hence my confusion and my Q&A.

Thanks in advance for your time in clarifying this, Paul](“https://vexforum.com/t/answered-autonomous-possessing-herding/24300/1&highlight=herding”)

This was ruled as “This would most likely be legal, as the BuckyBall would tend to be knocked away from the robot, as opposed to moving with the robot continuously as it drove.”

I though this sounded like it was legal, however, then I read this Q&A:

[https://vexforum.com/t/answered-autonomous-possessing-herding/24300/1&highlight=herding

This was ruled as “These routines are not legal. You are intentionally Herding BuckyBalls, which therefore count towards your limit of possessed BuckyBalls.”

My interpretation was that these two Q&A questions were describing much the same scenario, but the rulings on legality were conflicting. However there may be some distinction between the scenarios described that I am not picking up (would not be the first time :slight_smile: ), hence my confusion and my Q&A.

Thanks in advance for your time in clarifying this, Paul](https://vexforum.com/t/answered-autonomous-possessing-herding/24300/1&highlight=herding)

The post linked in my response was referring to situations in the Driver Controlled Period. The response you linked to was referring to situations during the Autonomous Period. Referees will be much more lenient with these types of situations during the Driver Controlled Period.