Answered: Horizontal Expansion Clarification

In this thread
https://vexforum.com/t/answered-sg14-ambigious-wording/42639/1
it was established that it is legal for a robot to expand past the 36” expansion limit as long as each section of the robot equidistant from the ground is less than 36” in size. In other words, it is legal for a robot where no 2 points horizontal from each other expand to greater than 36” to not fit within a 36” cylindrical tube. I’d like to extend this logic to an extreme situation. Would the following robot be legal?

If not, could you please explain the distinction between this case and the case in the thread I linked above?

Thank you very much!
Insane Question for GDC.png

This is not correct. SG14 is quoted here for reference:

In the post that you linked, we agreed with the following interpretation of “horizontal dimension”:

If you projected your hypothetical robot onto a single horizontal plane, it would far exceed 36". Thus, this would not be legal.

You can also approach this question by looking at the official Robot Expansion Tool. This is the tool that referees and event staff are using to judge on-field expansion. Your hypothetical robot would not pass a test from this tool.