Answered: Moving Cones

Are we allowed to move the cones without picking them up, in order to create more room on the playing field?

The short answer is: “sometimes”.

Let’s take a look at rule SG9 from the VRC In the Zone Game Manual:

This rule refers to Possession of a Cone, so let’s look at that definition as well:

You can also take a look at this year’s Referee Training videos for further clarification on the distinction between Possession, hoarding, and incidental “plowing” of Cones around the field (link).

Incidentally driving through or plowing Cones that are in your way is perfectly legal. Possessing multiple Cones with a concave portion of your robot, even if they are not picked up off of the playing field, is not legal.