Answered: Moving the ladder

Can we move the ladder?

(This is actually in reference to another post that brings into the question above about moving the ladder and tipping. Karthik replied:“this is a situation that needs to be evaluated on a case by case basis. However, as a general rule of thumb, if a team intentionally moves the ladder they could be held responsible if the ladder tips during this movement.”.

So the follow on question would be “What constitutes tipping”.

and will degenerate into:

"What is the maximum rotational velocity that any part of the ladder can achieve before it is considered to be tipping if the final resting state is not tipped (i.e. not in the original position but has been translated to a new location and final is considered to be the positional state at the end of the match (which would allow for constant transitional motion during the match)

It’s robots. It’s supposed to be fun. We are supposed to be learning stuff while we are having fun. And if we are learning how to be a Philadelphia Lawyer then I’m not having fun.

(I often wish for the days where VEX rules could be considered like Fight Club. 1st RULE: You do not talk about VEX Round Up Rules. 2nd RULE: You DO NOT talk about VEX Round Up Rules. :slight_smile:

I’m thinking the answer to the original question “Can we move the ladder?” is No.

Foster is correct, let’s address some of these questions before they balloon into an discussion no one in this community really wants to have.

Yes, moving the ladder is a legal maneuver.

The ladder is considered to be tipped if it is laying on the ground at the end of the match. This means that the can be legally moved during the match provided it does not fall over and hit the ground or the playing field perimeter.

All this being said, moving the ladder will be an enormous task for any team. The combination of the mass of the ladder, its volume and the force of friction between the ladder and the foam playing surface will make any attempts to move the ladder very difficult.