Answered: On-Field Scoring Objects Becoming Driver Control Loads

Is there any rule prohibiting a robot from gaining possession of any of the scoring objects on the field and giving them to a member of the drive team, so that they become driver control loads? This is given that the drive team member does not break the plane of the field.

Thank you.

Yes, there is. Let’s take a look at <SG9> from the VRC Nothing But Net Game Manual. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

So from this rule we see the following:

  1. You may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the field.
  2. Scoring Objects that leave the field will not be returned to the field.

Thus any Scoring Objects “given” to a Drive Team Member would result in violations of <G9> and would not be returned to the field, either by event staff or Drive Team Members.