Is there any rule prohibiting a robot from gaining possession of any of the scoring objects on the field and giving them to a member of the drive team, so that they become driver control loads? This is given that the drive team member does not break the plane of the field.
Yes, there is. Let’s take a look at <SG9> from the
VRC Nothing But Net Game Manual. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.
VEX Robotics Competition Nothing But Net Game Manual:
<G9> It is expected that Scoring Objects may unintentionally leave the field during match play.** Scoring Objects that leave the playing field will not be returned to the field. Teams may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the field. We do expect Scoring Objects to leave the field accidently during Scoring, however doing so intentionally or repeatedly would be a violation of this rule.** Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will result in a warning. Egregious (match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the head referee’s discretion.
So from this rule we see the following:
You may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the field.
Scoring Objects that leave the field will not be returned to the field.
Thus any Scoring Objects “given” to a Drive Team Member would result in violations of <G9> and would not be returned to the field, either by event staff or Drive Team Members.