Answered: One Driver on Different Teams at Different Events

From the manual:
<G3> Each team shall include up to three Drive Team Members. No Drive Team Member may fulfill
this role for more than one team at any given event.

  1. Is it legal for a drive team member to drive for one team number at a tournament, and then a different team number at the next tournament?

  2. Is it legal for a robot to compete as one team number at a tournament, then a different team number at the next tournament?

There are no rules prohibiting this action.

The answer to this question has been updated. Please see the subsequent post for our updated answer.

There are no rules prohibiting this action.

The answer to this question has been updated. Here is the updated answer.

<R1> states the following:

Once a Robot (defined as Subsystems 1 and 2) is entered in an event under a given team ID#, the Robot may not compete under any other team ID# at any subsequent event.

The intent here is not to prevent teams from upgrading or changing their own robots. The intent is to prevent one Robot being used to compete for multiple teams.