Answered: Pinning clarification take 2

I apologize if my previous question was not clear.

At our last competition there was some confusion regarding what constituted a pin.

Please see attached image.

If a robot is trying to return to its alliance zone and the opponent forces them against the wall as shown, is this a pin? In the videos it says that a pinned robot must attempt to escape. If they only continue in the red arrow direction, does this constitute trying to escape?

It’s hard to issue blanket rulings on hypothetical situations. However from what you’ve depicted, it seems as though if the red robot continues trying to drive forward, they would be considered trying to escape, even though driving backwards would be an easier way to escape.