The definition of pinning from the rules:
Pinning – A robot is considered to be pinning an opposing robot if it is inhibiting the movement of an opponent robot while the opposing robot is in contact with the foam playing surface and another field element.
Which means if I trap a robot with 2 of my team’s, it is legal.
Which further means that if I trap 2 robots with 2 of my team’s, it is also legal.
Now that’s established…
Say I trap 2 robots with 2 of my team’s and proceed to maneuver 1 of them into the edge/ladder/buoy or some other field element. Since the opposing robot would then be “inhibiting the movement of [my robot] while [my robot] is in contact with the foam playing surface and another field element”, they will then be pinning me. Since I have both of their robots trapped, they will then exceed the maximum pinning time of 5 seconds and get disqualified.
If I am not mistaking the rules, that is how it will go down, right?
I realize that my question is not very clear, but I wasn’t asking about trapping a robot between 2.
I understand that even though you have trapped a robot with 2 of your own, it can still be pinning as long as the opposing robot is touching the foam tiles and another field element.
My question is that if you are not pinning a robot, and maneuver yourself into a position of being pinned, while blocking the opponent’s movement, is it possible to then force your opponent to be disqualified?
If you did understand my question, then I might not be interpreting your answer correctly, and would like an elaboration.