Answered: Placing Match Loads

Yup, another Match Loads question. I have read the entire Q&A and we are preparing to help run a tournament this week (Pan Pacific), so I want to be sure about this.

In this post: https://vexforum.com/t/answered-placing-match-loads/19438/1

you mentioned that a chute as described is not legal. I don’t have one perfect video to ask with, so perhaps with two you can get the idea. Would the match loading be illegal here (blue alliance in both)?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNXpvLjfYPM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4V5YFV2Id0
(by the way, the second video also shows the stepping into the field disqualification that I mentioned in another thread)

Anyhow, if this is indeed illegal, can you explain the legality difference between that and your response below which allows for manipulating a hatch with a match load? Just would like to know so we know where to draw the line for our tournament.

[https://vexforum.com/t/answered-matchload-question/19894/1

Mahalo!](https://vexforum.com/t/answered-matchload-question/19894/1)

you mentioned that a chute as described is not legal. I don’t have one perfect video to ask with, so perhaps with two you can get the idea. Would the match loading be illegal here (blue alliance in both)?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNXpvLjfYPM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4V5YFV2Id0
(by the way, the second video also shows the stepping into the field disqualification that I mentioned in another thread)

Anyhow, if this is indeed illegal, can you explain the legality difference between that and your response below which allows for manipulating a hatch with a match load? Just would like to know so we know where to draw the line for our tournament.

[https://vexforum.com/t/answered-matchload-question/19894/1

Mahalo!](https://vexforum.com/t/answered-matchload-question/19894/1)

First off, thank you for taking the time to read the entire Q&A!

This is one of those judgement calls, where it’s very hard to make a ruling without seeing the actual mechanism. As stated earlier, it’s expected that robots will react to the introduction of Match Loads with minor movements and changes. Things like intake rollers spinning, baskets deforming, elastics stretching as a result of the introduction of Match Loads are expected.

However, simply using a Scoring Object in lieu of your hands to adjust the robot would not be considered legal. (i.e. Lifting a robot arm by pushing on it with a barrel) In the case of the Q&A from August, the impression was given that Match Loads were being used solely to change the configuration of the Robot. This is not legal. The intent of this rule is to allow teams to introduce Match Loads to the field/Robots, the intent is not to allow teams a new avenue to manipulate their robots.

So, to sum things up:

  • Introducing Match Loads results in slight configuration changes of the robot during the process of loading: Legal
  • Using Match Loads to change the configuration of a Robot by avoiding hand contact: Not Legal

I hope that clarifies things for you. Good luck at the Pan Pacific event.

Thanks Karthik.

Recommendation to the refereeing crew will be that this is legal.

Glenn can thank you later.

You’re welcome.