Answered: Pre-load Assisting

We have seen that many teams have a back autonomous that starts with the pre-load on the tile, in the 15 second autonomous they have their intake running and physically move their bot to pick up the pre-load and then it continues on. My question is, is this a legal or illegal move? It has been done by alot of teams now, and is a good strategy.

In this video you can see 2 teams on the back tile doing this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bvVUSR_Ayw

I’d rather know now, so I wont be DQ’d at worlds for attempting this.

Thank you!

As long as the physical movement isn’t assisting in the interaction with the Robot, this is legal. The key part of <SG4> in this regard is quoted below.

So I guess you are saying the action in the video is illegal, not sure on your answer, a judge here says illegal too in this post [https://vexforum.com/showthread.php?p=346819#post346819](https://vexforum.com/showthread.php?p=346819#post346819")​ moving the robot with intake running and it takes in a ball would be the assisting physical movement?, because you are physically spinning the bot to align to the ball and it intakes? I asked one of my advisers and he said you are saying legal, but my other adviser says no you are saying illegal. Just been seeing a lot of people do it, along with my team, then saw that post that says illegal and began to question.

The angle of the video makes it very difficult to tell if the interaction in the Red Hanging Zone Alliance Starting Tile is legal or illegal. I can’t provide anymore guidance than I did in my previous post.