Answered: Programming Skills - Modifying Position of Scoring Object #2

https://vexforum.com/t/answered-programming-skills-modifying-position-of-scoring-object/20720/1

In the Q/A above, which is a Q/A about another Q/A about my video: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i2IS...1&feature=plcp you ruled that, based on the video, moving the doubler was unintentional and thus legal.

To add on to Clean Sweep Man and JayM’s Q/A’s, can you clarify what we can define as intentional and unintentional? Since it is 1492A’s run, I can divulge the fact that contact with the doubler happened every time we practiced the run on our field at home. Although the intent of repositioning the robot is to score on the 30" goal, if it is impossible to reposition the robot to score on the 30" goal without moving the doubler barrel, and since our team is aware of that, would that be intentional or unintentional contact?

In essence, is it a matter of what you are repositioning the robot to do, or what actually happens (since our team knows that the doubler will move based on our actions) that determines intention?

Thanks! Sorry for the crazy thread nesting.](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i2IS...1&feature=plcp you ruled that, based on the video, moving the doubler was unintentional and thus legal.)

In the Q/A above, which is a Q/A about another Q/A about my video: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i2IS...1&feature=plcp you ruled that, based on the video, moving the doubler was unintentional and thus legal.

To add on to Clean Sweep Man and JayM’s Q/A’s, can you clarify what we can define as intentional and unintentional? Since it is 1492A’s run, I can divulge the fact that contact with the doubler happened every time we practiced the run on our field at home. Although the intent of repositioning the robot is to score on the 30" goal, if it is impossible to reposition the robot to score on the 30" goal without moving the doubler barrel, and since our team is aware of that, would that be intentional or unintentional contact?

In essence, is it a matter of what you are repositioning the robot to do, or what actually happens (since our team knows that the doubler will move based on our actions) that determines intention?

Thanks! Sorry for the crazy thread nesting.](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i2IS...1&feature=plcp you ruled that, based on the video, moving the doubler was unintentional and thus legal.)

The referees at each event will make the determination of whether or not an act intentional or not. The referees will only have the knowledge of what they have seen from your robot and will make the decision based on that. Something will be ruled as intentional if the referees determine that you “meant to do it”. Unfortunately, this is one of those situations where it’s hard to go into much more detail than that based on hypotheticals. To ensure absolute safety, do your best to not modify the position of any Scoring Objects while reorienting your robot.

Alright! I suppose that such a subjective matter can’t be given a blanket ruling. We’ll just try to steer clear of these controversial calls. Thanks again Karthik!

You’re welcome!