Answered: <PSC1b> Removal of possessed rings

<PSC1> A team may handle their Robot as many times as desired during a Programming Skills Match.
a. Upon handling the Robot, it must be immediately brought back to a legal starting position. Drivers are allowed to reset or adjust the Robot.
b. If the Robot is possessing any Rings when the Robot is being handled, these Rings will be removed from the playing field and can no longer be used.
c. If there are any Rings in the Robot Starting Position where the Robot is being placed, these Rings will be removed from the playing field and can no longer be used.


We ran our first scrimmage yesterday. I have a couple scenarios with the side posts and programming.

First:
A group was attempting to remove the three rings from a post on the side of the field. Their claw was touching the bottom ring of the three rings and the rings were still on the post. Their program failed at this point and the group wanted to reset their robot. Is the ring possessed? What about the rings on top of it? Which ones should be removed?

Second:
A team had the robot put a beam under the three rings, which slightly picked up the stack, and the rings were still on the post. The team then reset their robot. Only the bottom ring was touching the robot. Should these rings be removed?

Overall, what does possessed mean?

Thanks GDC!

If the Rings were still on the Starting Peg, then they would not need to be removed from the Robot. Refer to the definition of Emptied for a more detailed explanation of when Rings are to be considered “off” of the Starting Peg. We believe this satisfies both scenarios of your question - if not, please feel free to rephrase and re-submit.

Overall, what does possessed mean?

In general, a Robot can be considered to be Possessing a Ring if it is carrying, holding, or controlling the movement of a Ring in the Robot. These Rings don’t sound like they would’ve been considered “in” the Robot, and were still having their movement influenced by the Starting Peg.