I have several questions* for you. I have split them up by category of concern into several Q&A threads. Sorry for the trouble. If it helps, for most of them a yes or no answer would be perfect.
Concerning autonomous repositioning on legal starting tile positions for the 20 second autonomous period in the competition, providing no other rules are violated:
Does legal human interaction with robot sensors, in order to trigger or manipulate robot mechanism actions, include all VEX design system sensors (e.g. button sensor, limit switch, potentiometer, ultrasonic sensor, light & line sensor)?
Can these sensors be manipulated or activated by a member of the drive team while the same or other members reposition the robot?
Is it legal to reposition a robot from a position in contact with another robot to a position which removes the robot from contact with other robots, providing the repositioning robot maintains contact with a starting tile of its alliance color?
Is it legal to reposition a robot to a position which unintentionally places the robot in contact with other robots, providing the repositioning robot maintains contact with a starting tile of its alliance color?
Is it legal to unintentionally nudge any other robot by the action of repositioning a team’s own robot, providing the repositioning robot maintains contact with a starting tile of its alliance color?
Sorry that the writing is long-winded. I wanted to make sure my questions were as precise and unambiguous as possible.
*Apparently, of all the text I’ve typed up, there are 31 question marks, of which only five are in this post. (Sorry again.) You can give me crap for this when I see you at Worlds.
Let’s take a look at the applicable rule for clarity.
Yes, this rule applies to all VEX legal sensors.
Yes, provided that no other rules are violated in the process.
Yes, provided that no other rules are violated in the process. You be very careful not to contact or to alter the position of the other Robot in anyway. It would be very difficult to attempt this type of maneuver.
No, this would not be legal. By contacting the another Robot, you would be “handling” a robot which is not your own, which is a violation of <SG5>. (Quoted above)
No, this would not be legal. Please see above for the response to your question number 4.