Answered: Question about 5 seconds pinning <SG4>

…I am having a weird sense of deja vu. I don’t know if this question was deleted, or if it never sent as my browser has no recollection in its history of submitting this post, but I seriously thought that I did post this question yesterday. If this question is to be deleted again, could someone PM me why?

Anyways, <SG4> states the following.

I have now been to two competitions that ruled that the pinning for more than 5 seconds is cumulative, so even if you back up, the count would always stay frozen at the number you were at until your next pin. (e.g. If Red Robot A pinned Blue Robot D for 3 seconds and backed up, even if they stayed away for more than 10 seconds, the next time Red Robot A pins Blue Robot D, the count resumes at 3).

I need to ask for clarification about the meaning of the first sentence in <SG4>. Is this “more than five seconds” cumulative throughout the entire match, which makes the last clause a bit redundant, or does the “more than five seconds” count reset after backing up for 5 seconds?

The 5 second count should reset once an offending robot has backed away by at least 2 feet for at least 5 seconds, per the verbiage of SG4. Please see the relevant referee training video for more details.