Answered: Question about Rule SG9

Hello,

First, I want to apologize if I am posting this in incorrectly as this is my first post here. I tried searching but couldn’t find an answer.

I have a quick question in regards to Rule SG9:

This bad image is an approximate demonstration, in which the Black Lego technic thing is the robot and the plastic cup the 24" goals. The robot would not be attached to the structure nor would it be tight to it, so it can still be moved.

From the text I would think this is allowed, but I am not sure with Figure 15? I have also seen other robots doing this.

Thanks in advance for your help! Our first Vex competition ever is in 2 days, and I’m looking forward to it, although our robot is still in pieces. :smiley:

Kevin
photo-3.jpg

You’re right on two counts.

  1. This is a very bad image. :stuck_out_tongue:
  2. This type of design is legal, and is not a violation of <SG9>

Thanks Karthik!

Very off topic, and I might be mistaken, but did you MC at FLL tournaments some time ago?

You’re welcome!

Yes, I’ve MCed a variety of robotics competitions over the years, including FRC, FTC, FLL, and of course, VRC.

1 Like