During the autonomous period is it legal to have your robot drive up to the 11.5" goal in the interaction zone and then with the match loads feed them one at a time in to your robots claw, then the robot’s claw closes to hold the match load and then opens again to drop it into the goal that is right below it?
Also, is it legal to stand your robot back up, at anytime, if it has fallen over and it is touching your alliance starting tile?
Last question . . . for now until more comes about. If before a match starts a robot is perfectly legal but then you put in your preloads and then become bigger then 18", are you allowed to make yourself back to 18" and begin your match. After trying to make the perloads fit twice and being measured right there on the field and not making the 18" and then decided to just take out the preloads and making the robot back to 18", can you just be disqualified because you tried twice and did not make 18"?
If someone could help us find the answers to these questions, that would be really appreciated!
Let’s take a look at the applicable rules, <SG5> and <SG7> from the VEX Gateway Game Manual.
So as long as the claw is opening and closing on its own, the robot is touching its alliance starting tile and no other rules are violated, this would be legal. By placing the Scoring Object into a claw, and having the claw release the Scoring Object, this avoids having a human imparting any energy causing the Scoring Object to end up in a Scored position.
This would be legal in the autonomous mode, as this would be considered “reorienting” the robot. Please see the above quoted <SG5> for details. However this is not permitted during the driver control mode. Let’s take a look at <SG6> to understand why.
Thus if a robot was able to move and then fell over, it would not fall under this rule, as this rule is for robots that are unable to move at the start of the match.
Yes, you are allowed to modify your robot prior to the match. However, if you take too long, field personnel may ask you to stop. If at that point your robot is not in a legal starting position, they may ask you to remove your robot from the field. Decisions on whether or not a team has taken too long will be left up to the field personnel at each event.