Rule <R1> states " if you are swapping out an entire subsystem of either item 1 or 2, you have now created a second robot and are no longer legal" and qualifies subsystem 2 as “Power and control system that includes a VEX legal battery, a VEX control system,
and associated motors for the mobile robotic base”.
Specifically the word “entire” in the ruling leaves me questioning whether or not my team would be able to implement a mechanism to our robot. We are anticipating not needing our lift (which is powered by 1 motor) for every match, meaning that we would be able to take it off for certain matches, given we were inspected with and without the lift (answered in this thread: https://vexforum.com/t/answered-does-lift-count-as-one-subsystem-r1/32886/1).
Would the ruling in <R1> allow us to relocate this single lift motor to our drivetrain to assist with quicker movement, because we would not be replacing the entire drivetrain? Also, would the ruling allow us to take off and replace the wheel associated with this motor, given we get inspected with and without the wheel?