Answered: <R3c> Clarification

A robot’s legality was questioned in a VEXU competition. There’s been a lot of debate on whether this is legal as seen in: https://vexforum.com/t/vexu-is-this-legal-why-wouldnt-this-be-an-entanglement-hazard/28648/1
I was informed that I should be posting this on an official Q&A so here it is.

The robot is a “multi-bot” which uses polycarb to have a stationary robot to build the skyrise and another mobile one to score on cubes at the same time.

Would this robot in it’s current design be legal to compete?

The video of the robot: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lijMYUdaJc

I was informed that I should be posting this on an official Q&A so here it is.

The robot is a “multi-bot” which uses polycarb to have a stationary robot to build the skyrise and another mobile one to score on cubes at the same time.

Would this robot in it’s current design be legal to compete?

The video of the robot: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lijMYUdaJc

We cannot issue blanket rulings based on snapshots of video evidence. However we can offer the following guidance:

Any type of tether device will be heavily scrutinized for being a risk of entanglement as per <R3c>. Here are some past Q&A’s which address this issue.

https://vexforum.com/t/answered-partner-minibot/27092/1
https://vexforum.com/t/answered-unnecessary-risk-of-entanglement/26865/1
[https://vexforum.com/t/answered-multi-part-robot/27651/1

Any sort of final determination will be up to the inspectors and referees at the event. They’ll make this decision by taking an up close look at the tether device and evaluating it for a risk of entanglement.

To any team who has built a robot like this, I highly recommend you spend some extra time ensuring that the device is as rigid as possible, to avoid causing any sort of entanglement risk. You are fully responsible for any entanglement caused by your tether device; you should be prepared for opponents to drive over these devices.

Finally, to any team who plays against a Robot like this and intentionally tries to get entangled by the tether, you’ll need to pay careful attention to rule <SG10>

](https://vexforum.com/t/answered-multi-part-robot/27651/1)

Thanks, Karthik. I shall relay the message. Their robot was initially DQ’d because of risk of entanglement, but the team was able to convince the head referee to reverse the decision.

You’re welcome. As stated above, the referees and inspectors will make the final decision on these type of rulings.