Answered: Refusing finals placement

Is it legal for a team to refuse to take the captain slot in the top 8 after qualifying? The question has come up for alliance purposes. The team wanted to refuse to be in the top 8 captains and the ref/judge said you cannot. Is this correct or not? Just curious

Yes, this is legal. However if a team chooses not to take their spot as a captain, they are no longer allowed to participate in the elimination rounds at all. If a team is choosing to do this, they must inform the head referee prior to the start of alliance selection.