Answered: [Renamed] <S1> and Grappling Hooks

Hello,
In the process of formulating a climbing strategy, my team along with others came up with a design akin to a grappling hook. If a robot were to use a catapult of sorts to launch a hook attached via string towards the hanging bar in an attempt to climb, would this violate <S1> as an unsafe action by the robot?

Grappling Hooks are not inherently unsafe, thus there is no blanket ruling making them illegal. However we cannot issue a blanket ruling deeming the design legal without evaluating it carefully on the basis of safety, and the potential risk for entanglement. Rule <R3c> is worth paying careful attention to.

The concern with any potential grappling hook, is not the actual hook, rather the device that connects the hook to the robot. If you plan on releasing a grappling hook from a large distance from Hanging Bar, there’s a good chance that the connection between the hook and the robot becomes an inherent entanglement risk. However, if you extend it from right underneath the Hanging Bar, this would most likely be fine.

Thank you Karthik, you are awesome :)!

You’re welcome!

1 Like