Answered: Robot expansion and <SG3>

Please evaluate the following situation and specify whether a disqualification for pinning would result after the first five seconds of the driver controlled period.

An elastic powered red robot expands across the field blocking the troughs within the first few seconds of autonomous. At the same time, an opponent robot drives into the path of the expansion. The blue robot is sandwiched between the red robot and the wall of the field. The expansion cannot be reversed.
What would be the ruling if:
a. The blue robot is unable to get free.
b. The blue robot is able to get free but chooses not to.

<SG3> A Robot cannot Pin or Trap an opposing Robot for more than five seconds during the Driver Controlled Period. A Pin or Trap is officially over once the Pinning team has moved away from the teams are separated by 2 feet (approximately one (1) foam tile). After ending a Pin or Trap, a team may not Pin or Trap the same Robot again for a duration of 5 seconds. If a referee determines this rule to be violated, the offending Robot will be Disqualified for the match. There is no penalty for Pinning during the Autonomous Period.

Pinning – A Robot is considered to be Pinning an opposing Robot if it is inhibiting the movement of an opponent Robot while the opposing Robot is in contact with the foam playing surface and another Field Element.

Trapping – A Robot is considered to be trapped if an opposing Robot has restricted it into a small, confined area of the field, approximately the size of one foam field tile or less, and has not provided an avenue for escape.
Wallbot pinning question.jpg

a. If the Blue Robot is unable to get free, this would be pinning, and would be subject to a disqualification.
b. If the Blue Robot is able to get free but chooses not to, this would not be violation of the pinning rule. A team cannot just sit there and remain immobile by choice in hopes of forcing a disqualification.