Answered: Robot Hitting Off Switch

During a competition, a robot had a claw using bent 1/2" wide metal plates to grab objects. Later in the match their robot’s claw had gotten tangled with our robot, and somehow managed to push the power switch on our micro controller into the off position, by accident of course, as we later observed. What should have been done by the referees?

The referees should not have done anything. This sort of accidental contact, despite being unfortunate, is not to be penalized. Rule <SG11>, quoted below, addresses this issue. (I’ve bolded the pertinent text)

Ok. I was just making sure. Thank-you!

You’re welcome!