In the Vex Game manual you are not allowed to have your preload touching the Skyrise base at the beginning of the match.
However the definition of preload changes for the Robot and Programming skills challenges because of the extra cubes. However, there is also no mention of the preload touching the Skyrise base.
We interpreted this as our preload can touch the base, as long as it follows all the other criteria above, at the beginning of the match. At our last competition, this caused a bit of confusion, but was quickly resolved.
To avoid confusion in the future, can we have a clear ruling of is it legal or not, to have your preload touching the Skyrise base at the beginning of the skills challenges.