Answered: Robot touching gray tiles during auto repositioning <SG4>

This question relates to section SG4.

During the autonomous period a robot returns to its alliance starting tile and a coach correctly re-positions the robot so that is touching only the alliance tile as per SG4ii. In the next action the coach rotates the robot in such a way that the wheels make contact with the gray tiles. (In some cases the robot base is so large that it is not physically possible to rotate completely inside the square). This leads to the question which is: Are interactions that involve intentional contact with the gray (non-alliance) tiles considered legal interactions under SG4?

Thanks for your answer,

-Al

No, they are not. While legally handling the Robot during the Autonomous Period, the Robot may not contact any tiles aside from the Alliance Starting Tile. Teams with large robots will have to take extra care in these situations.