Answered: Robot within 18x18x18, but once preload is set expand the 18x18x18

In a competition I noticed that some teams pass the 18x18x18 inspection, but when they place the preloads the part of the robot that holds the preload (not the preload perse) clearly expands over the 18x18x18 limit. Is this legal? If not, can you request that the robot be inspected with the preload, cause once you remove the preload the robot goes back to the 18x18x18?

Please see the following similar Q&A post:

If a Robot appears to be starting a Match outside of the 18" restriction, Teams can request a sizing from the Head Referee, in accordance with SG14.