Answered: Rule S2, intentional vs inadvertently crossing field border

<S2> If a robot goes completely out-of-bounds (outside the playing field), it will be disabled for the remainder of the match.
Note: The intent is NOT to penalize robots for having mechanisms that inadvertently cross the field border during normal game play.

Q: Despite the word “inadvertently”, is it permissible to intentionally cross the field border with mechanisms?
Example: tube scoring mechanism must hang over wall boundary to score on wall goal.

  • (I recommend striking word “inadvertently” from <S2> )*

Provided that the robot does not completely go out of bounds, robots may intentionally extend past the field perimeter during normal game play, as long as this action is done in a safe manner.