Answered: Rule SG8, placing sacks on opposing robot when descoring.

I would like to get clarification on whether the following scenarios are legal and should or should not result in a team getting disqualified.

  1. Blue robot has scored many sacks in a trough. Red robot is able to de-score the sacks, some of which fall on the blue robot. The blue robot’s ability to function is not impaired.

Should red be disqualified ?

  1. Blue robot has scored many sacks in a trough. Red robot is able to de-score the sacks, some of which fall on the blue robot. The blue robot’s is disabled due to sacks falling into it’s drive system.

Should red be disqualified ?

  1. Blue robot has scored many sacks in a trough and parks under the trough as a means of defense. Red robot is able to de-score the sacks, some of which fall on the blue robot.

Should red be disqualified ?

The only rules I see that perhaps apply in these situation are as follows.

This rule mentions scoring but not descoring.

You had given some clarification of this back in May but that was specific to scoring only.

https://vexforum.com/showpost.php?p=302779&postcount=3

also perhaps this rule applies.

Descoring is obviously a big part of this years game but it is rarely mentioned in the Sack Attack game manual leaving some of these situations open to referee interpretation.

Placing Sacks on robots while directly in the process of Descoring is not a violation of <SG8>, as it would be considered an accidental act. However, if a robot were to pull Sacks out of a Trough, turn, and then drop the Sacks on an opposing robot, this would be considered intentional and a violation of <SG8>.

Basically, if Sacks end up on a Robot during the natural process of descoring, this will be considered accidental. If a Robot descores, then goes out of its way to place the Sacks on an opposing robot, this will be considered intentional.

Thanks for the reply Karthik, it certainly makes sense to me and is in line with my own thinking. Occasionally refs forget what is probably the most important rule in the manual.

Regards

James.

You’re welcome!