Answered: Ruling on G9

I apologize if this question was answered already. If a red robot launches a game object and it enters the zone on the blue side, but it bounces out from that zone. Will the game object return to the blue zone or the zone where the red robot launched the game object?

Thank you

<G9> It is expected that Scoring Objects may unintentionally leave the field during match play. Scoring Objects that leave the playing field will be returned to Zone from which they exited from (e.g. The Zone where the Robot was that launched it or last contacted it on its way out of the field). Teams may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the field. We do expect Scoring Objects to leave the field accidently during Scoring, however doing so intentionally or repeatedly would be a violation of this rule. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will result in a warning. Egregious (match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the head refereeā€™s discretion.

In this situation the Scoring Object would be returned to the last Zone it contacted, i.e. the Blue Zone.