Answered: scoring a pile covered by a bucket

If a team with an opaque bucket dumps a load of sacks and leaves the bucket for the rest of the match on the pile to prevent descoring, how should referees decide which sacks were touching the inside of the bucket after the refs remove the robot and let any supported sacks fall?

In a situation as described above, the referees will do their best to determine which sacks were touching the inside of the bucket. However, since the bucket is opaque, it will be very difficult for them to make the determination. We’re instructing the referees to err on the side of caution, and if any assumptions have to be made, to assume that sacks are most likely touching the sides of the bucket.

My advice to all teams. If you’re going to use a bucket as described as above, make sure it’s easy for the referees to see inside of it.