Answered: Scoring above the PVC pipeing

Hi-

I had a question as to whether or not a barrel, ball, doubler or negator would be “scored” if it is fully above the top of the PVC pipes of a Circular Goal and within the outer ring.

Also what if it is fully above the top of the PVC pipes of a Circular Goal and partially within the outer ring.

This could (theoretically) be possible with the 11 inch goals.

The official rules do not make this clear:

If you think about it “fully above” would qualify as being “not fully below.”

Third question is:
What if a Scoring Object is fully above the top of the PVC pipes of a Circular Goal and partially within the outer ring of the Circular Goal and is partially within the outer ring of any other Circular Goal. (See figure 5).

Wow! This post has gotten me thinking about the wording of this ruling:

In this example:

The idea of “partially within” and “within” need to be clarified.

This object is “partially within” both goals. It is not “within” one and “partially within” the other goal. “Within” means inside of and not beyond. On the other hand “partially within” means that some part of the object is “within” it and the rest is not. Dictionary.

I realize that this is very, very nit-picky but I think that if you really think about the wording it could be interpreted differently.

Thanks,
Fido488

PS. This entire post started from an idea that I had while reading the “Team 1107B Teaser ;)” post.

“Fully above” is the same as “not fully below”. If a Scoring Object is “within” a goal is also “partially within”. Thus it would be considered Scored as per clause 2 of the definition of Scored, quoted in your original question.

Same reasoning as above. This would be considered scored.

This object would not count as Scored, as per clause 2 of the definition of Scored.

Thank you very much Karthik!

One other quick question.

If you have 2 or 3 barrels resting on the rim of a low goal (with none inside the goal) and they are all equally distant from the floor. Would all of them be worth 2 points per the bonus rule because they are all equally distant from the floor?

If this was doubled would all of the barrels be doubled to be worth 4 point each or only one of them?

Thanks,
Fido488

You’re welcome!

In the rare circumstance where the referees cannot determine which Scoring Object is the lowest Scored Object in a Circular Goal, none of the Objects will receive the Bonus Point.

Just to clarify, there will be no bonus points awarded if the two objects in question at the exact same height are of the same colour. If there are two objects at the same height of the same colour, the alliance of that colour will be awarded a single bonus point.