I’ve searched for this answer but cannot find it having been asked/answered.
If the red team throws or dumps a star and it is deflected out of play by a blue robot. Technically it never makes contact with either zone. Would it be returned to the red teams zone or is contact with the opposing robot deemed indirect contact with the zone that robot is touching?
We ask you to please thoroughly read the
VEX Robotics Comeptition Starstruck Game Manual and to please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting in this forum. Specifically, please quote the rule or definition that your question is referring to.
Let’s take a look at the <G9> from the VEX Robotics Comeptition Starstruck Game Manual. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis:
VEX Robotics Competition Starstruck Game Manual:
<G9> It is expected that Scoring Objects may unintentionally leave the field during match play.
Scoring Objects that leave the playing field will be returned to Zone from which they exited from (e.g. Teams
The Zone where the Robot was that launched it or last contacted it on its way out of the field).
may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the field. We do expect Scoring Objects to leave
the field accidently during Scoring, however doing so intentionally or repeatedly would be a violation
of this rule. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will result in a warning. Egregious
(match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may
also receive a Disqualification at the head referee’s discretion.
In the case you’ve described, the Robot that last contacted the Star was a blue Robot. Thus the Star would be returned to the Zone that the Blue Robot is contacting.