The figures 8-11 show one picture in the upper right hand corner with both the robot and the cube half on and half off the starting tile labelled as an illegal load. But in that picture the robot does not appear to be touching the cube. My question is if the cube was fully on the robot and only the robot was half on and half off the starting tile whether that would be a legal load as the rule only requires that the robot be touching the Alliance Station Alliance Starting Tile and unlike SG 1 does not have the additional qualifier that there be no touching of any other field tiles.
I have searched for referee training videos at http://www.roboticseducation.org/vex-robotics-competitionvrc/vrc-training/ and likewise searched the Official Q&A headings reading those pertaining to SG 4 for an answer and cannot find where this has been previously addressed but our teams have been told in driver meetings that the robot must be fully on the Alliance Station Alliance Starting Tile and I do not see that requirement in the rules.
You have been advised incorrectly. <SG4> requires that Robots be touching the Alliance Station Alliance Starting Tile. It does not require that they be fully in the Alliance Station Alliance Starting Tile or preclude them from touching any other tiles.