Answered: SG(6) clarification

SG(6) states: “Any Scoring Objects introduced during the Match as Driver Control Loads must be either
gently placed on a Robot of your own color touching the Loading Zone or gently entered into the
Loading Zone of your own color, by a Student Drive Team Member during the Driver Controlled
Period. The intent of this rule is to allow teams to introduce objects into play, but not to impart energy
on the Scoring Object which will cause it to end up in a position outside the Loading Zone.”

At a recent tournament we were told not to impart any energy onto the ball to the robot, as per these rules. We were disqualified in a match therefore because we were rolling the ball into the robot. Is this still illegal even though it isn’t in the “intent” of the rules? We were 3 inches away from the intake, and there would be no way the ball would be leaving the loading zone with the energy imparted on the ball and the shape of our intake ( like this : l_l with the ball going toward the south of your screen inside of the two walls).

Thank you

What you have described appears to be legal. Rolling Balls into a Robot is generally legal.