Answered: <SG1> Clarification of Robot Starting Position.

<SG1> Clarification of Robot Starting Position.
At a recent tournament we had issues concerning the starting position of the robot. We were told in the finals that our robot could not start touching the wall and were required to move as far as an inch away from the wall. I understand that the robot cannot violate <SG11>. We were sitting next the wall simply using it to index the robot. Nothing was used to grasp or attach to the wall.

Question: Is the robot allowed to touch, be against the wall as a legal starting position?


Yes, this is legal. <SG1> only precludes you from touching non Preload Scoring Objects, other foam field tiles, the Skyrise Base, any post, or the Autoloader. There is no rule against touching the field perimeter.