Answered: SG10 Passive vs Active defense

Please look at the linked video and specifically at the 1:40 to 1:50 mark of the video. This match ended in a tie so any amount of delay from the blue robot in keeping the red robot from scoring (much less 10 seconds) using the illegal strategy of touching the red robot while the red robot is contacting its starting bar keeping it from scoring the mogo into the 10 point zone during that time would seem to be match affecting.

The explanation the ref gave was that the blue robot was being “passive” rather than “active” and this is why it was not a DQ and that eventually, the red robot was able to score the mobal goal with the stack in the 10 point zone so it was not match affecting.

2 questions come to mind from this encounter.

  1. With regard to SG10, is there a difference between “passive” and “active” defense when the defensive robot is either touching the offensive robot while that robot is touching its starting bar or when the defensive robot ends up in the 10 point zone of the offensive robot (the latter did not happen in this match but did in another). If there is a difference between “active” and “passive” defense, would it ever be a violation for the offensive robot that is trying to score to push the “passive” defending robot into the 10 point zone? As an event partner, I wanting clarification for future tournaments.

  2. Is the only calculus for match affecting the amount of the score that was prevented at the moment of time in of the interaction and if the team eventually scores then it is not match affecting, or is the delay in being able to score also a consideration? If it is the former, it seems like a strategy that would work would be to park in the opponent’s 5 point zone and let them push you into the 10 point zone and slow them down from scoring for a portion of the match and then get out letting them eventually score. That would seem odd.

I want to add that overall, the refs did a great job. I am sure if they did something wrong, they would want to correct it.

link text

The rules do not differentiate between “passive” and “active” defense. Think about pinning/trapping - if you “passively” trap a robot in a corner, they’re still being trapped.

This interaction is dependent on the context of the match. Yes, there is a possibility for it to be a violation, if the offensive robot is purely pushing the defender to draw a penalty. See this Q&A and the Q&A summary document.

Lost play time due to a violation can be a consideration when determining if an interaction was Match Affecting, yes. It’s similar to a violation occurring that incapacitates a robot for the rest of the match - even though the violation may have been momentary, its impact had a ripple effect to the rest of the match.