<SG11> Robots may not intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any
Field Elements. Strategies with
mechanisms that react against multiple sides of a field element in an effort to latch onto said field element
are prohibited. The intent of this rule is to prevent teams from both unintentionally damaging the field,
and from anchoring themselves to the field. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will
result in a warning. Egregious (match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that
receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the head referee’s discretion.
Field Element – The foam field tiles, field perimeter, Autoloader, Posts, Skyrise Bases, and all supporting
There have been two Q+A threads on this issue:
1 May, FullMetalMentor:
Answered: <SG11> Attaching to Skyrise sections…
Okay, so obviously you need to grasp a Skyrise section in order to build your Skyrise, but once it is built, is it considered a Field Element? Or can your robot grasp and grapple and attach itself to the Skyrise tower once it is assembled?
Yes, this is legal.
9 September, TOSS_BOSSES:
Answered: Driving up a Skyrise Tower
Is it allowed for a robot, or a part of a robot securely attached to a robot chassis, to drive up its own skyrise tower once built?
I.e… (Sorry for the low quality…)
I thought at first that it would break the rule on robots attaching themselves to field elements (SG11), but as only the Skyrise base is a field element, and not the sections themselves, this rule doesn’t seem to be a problem if the robot avoids contact with the base.
Thanks in advance for your help!No, this is not legal. This would be seen as a violation of both <S1> (damaging the field)
and <SG11> (anchoring to the field.)
A built skyrise is not classified as a Field Element under the definition. Since these two previous Q+A threads seem to be saying different things, could you please give some clarification on whether grasping/grappling a Skyrise is a violation of <SG11> or not?
February 17, 2015, 11:17am
Attaching to a Skyrise is expected to happen during the natural Building process of Skyrises. (e.g. Being clamped onto a Skyrise Section that has just been inserted into a Skyrise or Skyrise Base) However if at some point this attachment leads to a serious risk of field damage, it would become a violation of <S1>.