Answered: <SG13> Clarification

Dear Karthik,

According to <SG13>, it states that a robot may not cause the opposing alliance to commit offences:

So, to clarify:

Red Robot A pushes Blue Robot A to get to the loading zone to get their driver control loads, and without pushing Red Robot A into their loading zone they will not be able to get to their driver control loads.

If we assume without those driver control loads, the Red Alliance would loose, would the Red Alliance be Disqualified, since this is considered Match Affecting as per <SG13>?

Thanks!

It’s impossible to issue blanket rulings on snapshots of hypothetical situations like this one. That being said, the key word in <SG13> is “intentional”. If Red Robot A is making a legitimate attempt to get to their loading zone, <SG13> would not apply, and Blue Robot B would be in violation of <SG7>, possibly subject to a disqualification.

However if Red Robot A is just doing this in an attempt to force Blue Robot A to get a penalty, <SG13> would apply, and Red Robot A would be warned. This would not be considered Match affecting, as Red Robot A is only hurting themselves by trying to drive through Blue Robot B, thus there would be no DQ to Red Robot A.

We understand that having referees try and determine intent is a murky situation, and very difficult. Our referees will do their best to try and make this determination.