Answered: <SG14> clarify when a robot has fallen over

During the scrimmage this week a number of times robots fell over while they were fully extended, effectively blocking off a portion of the field. Would this be in violation of the 36" extension rule? video

The 36” diameter cylinder is measured relative to the field tiles, not the Robot’s orientation, so a tipped robot is still measured by the same cylinder as an upright one.

If, upon being tipped, the extension is ruled by the referee to not be Match Affecting, then it would be considered a minor violation and a warning. If it is ruled by the referee to be Match Affecting, then it would be considered a violation and a Disqualification.