Answered: SG3 and the definition of trapping

The rules say you can’t trap a robot in a space smaller than 2x2 feet. That implies that it is legal to “trap” a robot in a space larger than 2x2 feet, say, 2.5 feet by 2.5 feet. Am I correct in this assumption?

Given that, would it be considered legal to engulf a robot on the ground with a 2.5 x 2.5ft square metal apparatus? The robot would be able to maneuver on the ground in that space, which is larger than one foam field tile. The engulfing robot would also not be full height, it would mainly be just a drive train height.

If that is legal, would it be legal to drive around with that robot enclosed in the 2.5ft x 2.5ft square?

Provided that you have not entangled the opposing robot, or violated any other rules in the process, this would be legal.