Answered: SG3 Clarification on momentary and inadvertent expansion.

SG3 Clarification on momentary and inadvertent expansion.

During a recent tournament, our swing-down lift (held by rubber bands) got entangled with an opponent. As a result, the lift swung out momentarily for no more than 1 or 2 seconds but it immediately swung back in to place to keep our robot within the limits of SG3.

The referee disqualified us as a result for violating SG3. Was this a correct ruling?

If this was a minor violation that did not affect the match, it should have resulted in a warning. If it was a match affecting offense, it should have resulted in a disqualification. Without seeing the entire match, it’s impossible for us to make that sort of determination.