Answered: <SG4> Question

Hi at a event recently we ran into a question that i would like a official answer that i can print out and show a future events.

We thought that during the autonomous period that as long as the robot does the scoring then it was legal, for example we reposition the robot to face the trough then the robot moves to the trough and scores the sacks on its own.

The rule <SG4> was interpreted as if we were to reposition the robot anytime during the autonomous period, we would not be able to score for the remainder of the autonomous period.

We would like to know what the correct ruling is.
Thank you for your time.

Let’s take a look at <SG4> from the VEX Sack Attack Game Manual. I’ve bolded some pertinent text for emphasis.

Teams are allowed to aim/reorient/reposition their robots during their autonomous period. As long as the robot has been brought back into a legal starting position, as per <SG4i>, the robot is free to go score after this type of aiming.

Thank you! :smiley:

You’re welcome!