Answered: <SG4> Questions

I have some questions about this rule:

  1. If the robot is touching its alliance starting tile, and not the grey tiles, is it legal to reorient the robot into a position where it is touching both the alliance tile and the grey tiles, like in the picture? I know that <SG4.iii> says that before the robot attempts to score or interact with game objects, it must be fully within the starting tile. However, I am asking whether it would be legal to reposition it like in the picture and have it stay there (not moving again, and not attempting to score afterward).
    http://raptorchat.weebly.com/uploads/6/6/6/2/6662532/3424796_orig.png

  2. If the robot is touching the grey tile and the alliance starting tile, and I pull it fully onto the alliance starting tile as per <SG4.ii>, can I then reorient it as per <SG4.i>, or must I leave it alone after that?

No, the robot must be left in a legal starting position as per <SG4i>, i.e. It must be touching the Alliance Starting Tile and not touching a gray foam tile.

Yes, you may reorient the robot as per <SG4i>

Okay, thanks for clearing that up!

You’re welcome!